18 Mar 2016

New Zealand add pace, bat first against Australia

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bat first against Australia in their World Twenty20 Super 10 match at Dharamsala on Friday.

The Kiwis are on a high after beating hosts India in their Group Two opener and a second win against their trans-Tasman rivals will put them on course for a place in the semi-finals.

After their brave gamble to pick three specialist spinners paid off against India, New Zealand decided to bolster the pace attack, dropping off-spinner Nathan McCullum to accommodate Mitchell McClenaghan.

"It's nice to get a win early and hopefully we can make an adjustment again on a new wicket," captain Kane Williamson said.

Australia captain Steven Smith said he too would have liked to bat first on a dry wicket at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium.

Australia, who will hope to make a winning start to their bid for an elusive World Twenty20 title, have had a problem of plenty at the top of the batting order and Smith confirmed Usman Khawaja will open the innings with Shane Watson.

Khawaja's inclusion meant there was no place for former captain Aaron Finch in the team.


11 Dec 2018, 13.30 IST
2nd ODI

Bangladesh v West Indies

, Dhaka

14 Dec 2018, 13.30 IST
3rd ODI

Bangladesh v West Indies

, Sylhet

14-18 Dec 2018, 08.00 IST
2nd Test

Australia v India

, Perth

15-19 Dec 2018, 03.30 IST
1st Test

New Zealand v Sri Lanka

, Wellington


1st, Match - Zimbabwe v Hong Kong , Nagpur
Zimbabwe 158/8 (20/20 ov)
Hong Kong 144/6 (20.0/20 ov)
Zimbabwe won by 14 runs

2nd, Match - Afghanistan v Scotland, Nagpur
Afghanistan 170/5 (20/20 ov)
Scotland 156/5 (20.0/20 ov)
Afghanistan won by 14 runs

3rd , Match - Bangladesh v Netherlands , Dharamsala
Bangladesh 153/7 (20/20 ov)
Netherlands 145/7 (20.0/20 ov)
Bangladesh won by 8 runs

4th, Match - Ireland v Oman, Dharamsala
Ireland 154/5 (20/20 ov)
Oman 157/8 (19.4/20 ov)
Oman won by 2 wickets